Back to NSCC Welcome Page Back to NSCC Library Welcome Page
Catalogue Resources Services Policies Instruction Research Assistance Contact Us Search & Site Map
 >> Welcome Page | Resources | Databases | Browse the Databases by Title

 

 

Browse the Databases by Title


Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database with access to more than 6000 full-text periodicals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for close to 10,000 journals and a total of more than 10,500 publications that includes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It provides information on a complete range of academic subjects such as biology, chemistry, computer science, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion, sociology, and more.

PDF IconSearch Guide


AccessScience

AccessScience is the online, searchable version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. It includes encyclopedia articles, scientific and technical definitions, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, related web sites, illustrations, as well as learning resources and study guides. Note: For remote access, contact your Campus Library staff for a user ID and password.

PDF IconSearch Guide


AGRICOLA

The National Agricultural Library (U.S.) houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections.AGRICOLA is its premier agricultural database, providing an index to this extensive collection.Note: This is not a full text database.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Agriculture Collection

Agriculture Collection provides full-text content from more than 400 agricultural periodicals, as well as e-books from major technology publishers such as Delmar.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete provides definitive scholarly business information covering such areas as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. In addition to over 3000 full text journals, additional full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, author and company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Canadian flag CBCA Complete

CBCA Complete includes the content of Canadian Business & Current Affairs databases. Subject coverage is comprehensive, with a Canadian focus. Topics include: current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles. Full text is available within these areas. Need Canadian content? Start here.


Canadian flag Canada Year Book Historical Collection

Canada Year Book Historial Collection is a wealth of historical data in digitized format compiled from 100 years of the Agency's annual Canada Year Book. It covers the first century of Canadian history following Confederation in 1867, through to 1967, with historical text, tables, charts and maps.

WWW Icon Search Options


Canadian flag Canadian Reference Centre

Canadian Reference Centre combines Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create one of the largest collections of regional full text content available to Canadian libraries. This database includes leading Canadian and international periodicals in full text, reference books, over 84,000 biographies and an image collection of over 200,000 photos, maps and flags.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Culinary Arts Collection

Culinary Arts Collection is comprised of more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, providing access to not only numerous recipes but industry news and practical instruction.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Encyclopedia Britannica Online provides in-depth coverage that includes not only the content from the notable adult encyclopedia, but three additional encyclopedias. It provides links to high calibre web sites, full text articles from hundreds of periodicals, as well as video and animation clips. A world atlas, dictionary and over 23,000 biographies are also provided. Note: For remote access, contact your Campus Library staff for a user ID and password.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides full-text content from more than 700 environmentally-related periodicals, as well as e-books from major technology publishers such as Delmar.

PDF IconSearch Guide


ERIC

ERIC, (Educational Resource Information Center), is the premier source for education-related information. ERIC provides more than 2,200 full text educational digests, as well as citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational journals.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Canadian flag E-STAT

Statistics Canada provides accurate and reliable data on Canada and its population. Note: For remote access, contact your Campus Library staff for a user ID and password.

WWW Icon User Guides


Fine Arts and Music Collection

Fine Arts and Music Collection provides full-text content from more than 150 fine arts and music periodicals.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection provides full-text content from more than 50 specialized horticulture and landscape periodicals, as well as e-books from major technology publishers such as Delmar.

PDF IconSearch Guide


GreenFILE

GreenFILE is a full text research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming, recycling, alternate fuel sources and more. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Health Reference Center-Academic

Health Reference Center-Academic provides access to leading medical journals and reference books, as well as nursing and allied health information. It indexes close to 1000 periodicals and provides access for 80% of them. It also provides information from pamphlets and newsletters from leading health organizations.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Health and Wellness Resource Center

Health and Wellness Resource Center provides access to nearly 400 health and medical journals, reliable health reference books, hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications. Close to 70% of this database is full text.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Home Improvement Collection

Home Improvement Collection provides full-text content from more than 200 home improvement periodicals. It covers such topics as architectural techniques, construction, tool and material selection, and more, to meet the needs of professionals and hobbyists alike.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Hoover's Company Records

Hoover's Company Records features profiles for over 40,000 companies, 600 industries and over 225,000 key executives. Company records provide information such as company overview and history, officers, products and operations, rankings, financials and more.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Hospitality and Tourism Complete

Hospitality and Tourism Complete provides research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records with full text provided for more than 200 publications, including periodicals, company/country reports, and books. Subject areas include culinary arts, demographics and statistics, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management and administration, leisure and business travel, and market trends.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

LISTA, (Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts), indexes more than 600 periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Note: This is not a full text database.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Canadian flag Maritime Law Book

Maritime Law Book provides comprehensive case law reporting from the National Reporter System (NRS), and includes cases from the trial and appellate courts from all provinces and territories in Canada (except Quebec), plus cases from the Federal Court of Canada (both Trial and Appeal Divisions) and the Supreme Court of Canada. Select House of Lords and Privy Council cases (U.K.) are included too. Note: This database can only be accessed by Paralegal Services students and faculty using their Maritime Law Book username and password.

WWW Icon Quick Tips


Canadian flag Martin's Online Criminal Code

Martin’s Online Criminal Code includes the current Code and all Codes back to 1955. This unique and convenient online resource offers you easy access to all provisions of the Criminal Code at any specific point in time. This resource is supported by a grant from the Law Foundation of Nova Scotia. Note: This database can only be accessed on campus.

WWW Icon Online Help


Nursing Reference Center

Nursing Reference Center delivers the most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases via a nursing-specific graphical interface.

PDF IconSearch Guide


OH&S Databases

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Note: For remote access, contact your Campus Library for a user ID and password.

WWW Icon Search Assistance


PubMed

The National Library of Medicine's premier database which provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life sciences journals. Note: This is not a full text database.

WWW Icon Tutorial


Canadian flag Quicklaw

Quicklaw™ provides high calibre information from the broadest collection of legal sources. This includes an extensive collection of full-text court and tribunal decisions and case law summaries, expert commentary and legal analysis and comprehensive legislative collections for every province and territory. This resource is supported by a grant from the Law Foundation of Nova Scotia. Note: This database can only be accessed by Paralegal Services students and faculty using their QuickLaw™ username and password.

WWW Icon Tutorials


Teacher Reference Center

The Teacher Reference Center contains over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogy, curriculum development, instructional media, and more Although its target audience is more for a K-12 audience, all educators will find this source useful.. Note: This is not a full text database.

PDF IconSearch Guide


Vocational Studies Complete

Vocational Studies Complete is an interdisciplinary database that covers wide-ranging subjects such as alcohol and drug abuse counseling, audiology, computer processing, cosmetology, electrical technology, graphic arts, health information technology, law enforcement and criminal justice, paralegal studies, travel and tourism and more. It contains access to more than 1,800 full-text journals as well as nearly 300 full-text books.


 

Related Links

Updated January 3, 2010


 
Questions? Comments? E-mail the . © Nova Scotia Community College, 2003. All Rights Reserved.
Any unauthorized reproduction, storage, transmittal or distribution, in whole or part, is strictly prohibited. Declaration of Waiver.